What we are seeing here is the return of geography

I considered posting on the topic du jour (des dernieres semaines, I suppose, by now): the Ukraine, or just Ukraine. (The definite article has been dropped by the people who decide how we ought to talk today. The ‘the’ has been deprecated, according to Wikipedia, which also suggests that the editors of Wikipedia learn how to write by reading software manuals.)

But anything I might have had to say on the topic has been better said at greater length by people with far more knowledge. I have however, discovered this useful guide.

2 thoughts on “What we are seeing here is the return of geography

  1. Maybe, but I doubt it. Even the Ukrainians don’t look like they’re going to fight to keep the Crimea. It’s a bit unsettling to see borders redrawn like that at the behest of the Kremlin. I haven’t got a clue what Putin will do next, if anything. For that matter, I don’t think anyone else does either.

Comments are closed.